You are here
Home > Africa > President Ruto appoints new members to spearhead CBC reforms.

President Ruto appoints new members to spearhead CBC reforms.

Photo courtesy president William S. Ruto.

President William Ruto has appointed 49 members to work on education reforms, tasked with evaluating the Competency-Based Curriculum (CBC) before submitting the final findings for consideration.

The team led by chairman Raphael Munavu with renowned teacher, Peter Tabichi, Kenyatta Vice Chancellor, Paul Wainaina and his University of Nairobi counterpart, Stephen Gitahi Kiama will be tasked with assessing before recommending the appropriate structures to be adopted and implemented in CBC. According to a gazette notice dated September 29, the team will have 7 secretaries and 42 members.

“It is notified for the general information of the public that  William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya has appointed a working party on education reform. The secretaries are KNEC CEO David Njengere, Elyas Abdi, Eunice Gachoka, Jackson Too, Richard Miano,  Reuben Nthamburi, and Patita Tingoi,” the Gazette Notice reads.

The Munavu-led task force will be expected to undertake a summative evaluation of CBC and study all laws governing the basic education subsector and make recommendations for review of these legislations to address duplication, ambiguities, efficiency constraints and improving linkages.

Vc Raphael Munavu.

The new team has also been tasked with assessing the examination framework and also evaluate the teacher education and training framework for both preservice and in-service. They are further tasked to look into the teachers’ deployment policies and general school governance.

“…To review and recommend a framework for physical and infrastructure development and coordination of public-private partnerships for improved access and quality provision,” The president stated through the Gazette Notice.

Among the members are: Peter Tabichi, David Some, Halima Saado, Jacinta Ngure, Peter Njenga, Jerono Rotich, Ciriaka Gitonga, Purity Mbaabu and Edward Katue, Jane Imbunya, Bernard Kariuki, Peter Njenga.

Other members are Salome Eyangan, Wiston Akala, Jane Kimiti, Kizito Wangalwa, Augusta Mwihaki, Peter Barasa, Ahmed Yusuf, Jone Mose, Hassan Mwakimako, Lynette Mwende, Wilson Kogo, Stephen Mumbua, Paul Lilan, Richard Githinji Collins Odote . Virginia Wahome, Robert Juma, Charles Kyalo, Anthony Cheruiyot, Bishop Geoffrey Waweru, Seline Chepngeno, Laila Abubakar, Daniel Otieno, John Kamiti, Margaret Chege and James Kanya.

Benard Lucas (Mc Ressy)
A media practitioner, event organizer, a writer and a poet. A world class motivational speaker.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply