You are here
Home > Africa > DP William Ruto declared the 5th president of Kenya

DP William Ruto declared the 5th president of Kenya

Deputy President William Samoei Ruto was declared the 5th president of Kenya by the Chairman of the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission Wafula Chebukati on 15th August in Nairobi Kenya.

The announcement followed chaotic scenes at the Bomas of Kenya that saw two election officers injured and some arrested when chaos erupted at the auditorium.

The 55-year-old Ruto defeated president Uhuru-backed Raila Odinga, 77, in a tight contest that saw other fringe candidates Agano and Roots Party candidates David Mwaure and George Wajackoyah respectively.

Ruto got 50.49 per cent (7.18 million) of the 14million Kenyans effectively ending the political careers of the Kenyatta-Odinga families since 1964 in Kenya. He was followed by about 6.94 million votes (48.5 per cent) which went to Raila Odinga. 

Senior Azimio La Umoja leaders left the auditorium after fomenting chaos terming the IEBC tally center as a “crime scene.” “We want to see and verify the results. We have intelligence reports that their system was penetrated and hacked. Some IEBC officials actually committed electoral offences and ought to have been arrested,” said Saitabao Ole Kanchory who was Odinga’s agent.  

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply