You are here
Home > News > House speaker gazettes two seats as vacant

House speaker gazettes two seats as vacant

National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula, during a previous House session.

The House speaker Moses Wetangula has gazetted Kandara and Garissa Town constituencies as vacant, calling for by-elections.

The House speaker has done that following the appointments that were done to the respective constituencies’ members of parliament to the cabinet positions. Kandara was being represented by Alice Wahome who, until then, had served two terms – and had just been elected to start her third consecutive term.

On his part, Aden Duale had served as Garissa Town member of parliament ever since 2007. (He remains one of the longest serving legislators – before he was finally snapped up to cabinet position, to be in charge of national Defence docket).

Other positions that have since been declared vacant, and are also gearing up for by-elections, are Bungoma County, which was being represented by now the House speaker Moses Wetangula, and Elgeyo Marakwet County, having had their Senator, Kipchumba Murkomen, being promoted to Cabinet Secretary position. The former Senator for Elgeyo Marakwet is now the new Cabinet Secretary in charge of the lucrative Transport, Roads and Infrastructure docket.

During the announcement, the House speaker Moses Wetangula quoted the constitution: “Pursuant to Articles 101(4)(a) and 103(1)(d) of the Constitution as read with section 16(3) of the Elections Act No. 24 of 2011, it is notified for the general information of the public that the seat of the Member of the National Assembly for Kandara Constituency elected under Article 97(1)(a) of the Constitution has become vacant with effect from 26th October 2022,” the gazette notice by the speaker dated October 27 reads.
Alice Wahome rendered her resignation on Wednesday 26th, when the new responsibility came calling.

In his part, Aden Duale had served for three terms, from 2007, and was now going for his forth.

The next step is now for the Independent Elections and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to gazette the elections date for the four vacant elective positions.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply