You are here
Home > Sports > “My Focus Is Now On Africa Cup Of Nations Qualifiers,” Says Harambee Stars Custodian Arnold Origi

“My Focus Is Now On Africa Cup Of Nations Qualifiers,” Says Harambee Stars Custodian Arnold Origi

Harambee Stars goalkeeper Arnold Origi has confirmed his focus is now on the upcoming African Cup of Nations qualifiers after completing the season with HIFK Fotboll in Finland.

Origi was among five goalkeepers who were provisionally summoned by Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee for the encounter against Comoros and is set to jet into the country for the upcoming double-header.

The other goalkeepers are Timothy Otieno of Ulinzi Stars, Kariobangi Sharks’ Brian Bwire, Ian Otieno of Zesco United – who is expected to be the first choice goalkeeper – and Tusker’s Robert Mboya.

“Another season with lots of good memories as a goalkeeper concludes. Extremely grateful for completing it injury-free, full of motivation and energy to keep on going and create even more good memories,” Origi wrote on his Facebook page.

“Full focus now turns to Mama-land [Motherland]”

Origi had been recalled by Francis Kimanzi to the team’s fold after a five-year absence for the October 10 friendly encounter against Zambia that was played at Nyayo Stadium.

With Origi confirming his availability, Mulee is sweating over Michael Olunga, whose Kashiwa Reysol teammates and coach Baptista Nelsinho contracted coronavirus.

The infection at Olunga’s camp saw a J1 League encounter against Vegalta Sendai postponed as well as the J-League Cup match against Tokyo FC.

Olunga – with 23 goals in his maiden season in Japan’s tier – was expected to play a critical role in the qualifiers but the positive tests within his camp have made his availability uncertain.

Kenya’s provisional squad;

Goalkeepers: Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito, Kenya), Brian Mandela (Unattached), Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya) Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Mike Kibwage (Sofapaka, Kenya), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya), David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya)

Midfielders: Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Ismael Gonzalez (UD Las Palmas, Spain), Eric Johanna Omondi (Jonkoping’s Sodra, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Antony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Musa Masika (Wazito, Kenya), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya) Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Unattached), Peter Thion’go (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Elli Asieche (Sofapaka, Kenya), Mathew Olake (Unattached), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Austin Odhiambo (AFC Leopards, Kenya).

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply